[OCG] 20th Anniversary Pack 1st Wave Rulings

View previous topic View next topic Go down

[OCG] 20th Anniversary Pack 1st Wave Rulings

Post by Stardog on Tue Dec 27, 2016 10:01 am

First, rulings for the new cards.

20AP-JP001 Passionate Duelists

Q: When my face-up Attack Position Blue-Eyes White Dragon declares an attack, I activate the effect of Passionate Duelists that negates my attack and destroys a Spell/Trap Card on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains Compulsory Evacuation Device or Raigeki Break to the effect, so that Blue-Eyes White Dragon is no longer on the field, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the attacking Blue-Eyes White Dragon leaves the field because of the effect of Compulsory Evacuation Device or Raigeki Break, the effect of Passionate Duelists cannot negate the attack, and the targeted card is not destroyed.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: When my face-up Attack Position Dark Magician declares an attack, I activate the effect of Passionate Duelists that negates my attack and destroys a Spell/Trap Card on my opponent’s field. If my opponent chains Forbidden Lance to the effect, so that Dark Magician becomes unaffected by the effects of Spell Cards, how does the effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the attacking Dark Magician becomes unaffected by Spell effects because of the effect of Forbidden Lance, the effect of Passionate Duelists cannot negate the attack, and the targeted card is not destroyed. (Since the attack of Dark Magician is not negated, it continues normally.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I Set a Spell/Trap Card from my hand to my Spell & Trap Zone. During the same turn, if I activate Passionate Duelists, will I be able to Set another Spell/Trap Card from my hand this turn?
A: The effect of Passionate Duelists that allows each player to Set only 1 Spell/Trap Card from their hand per turn is applied while Passionate Duelists is face-up in the Spell & Trap Zone. As in this scenario, the effect of Passionate Duelists does not include any Spell/Trap Cards that were Set from your hand this turn before you activated the card, so you can still Set 1 more Spell/Trap Card this turn while the effect of Passionate Duelists is applying.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I Special Summoned a Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon from my Extra Deck this turn. During the same turn, if I activate Passionate Duelists, can Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon attack this turn?
A: The effect of Passionate Duelists that prevents monsters from attacking during the turn they are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck also applies to monsters that were Special Summoned before the card was activated. Therefore, in this scenario, the Blue-Eyes Ultimate Dragon that was Special Summoned from the Extra Deck this turn cannot attack.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Passionate Duelists is face-up on my field, and its effect that prevents monsters from attacking during the turn they are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck is applying. In this situation, if I Synchro Summon a Metaphys Horus using a Normal Monster as a Synchro Material monster, so that it is unaffected by other cards’ effects this turn, can it attack?
A: The effect of Passionate Duelists that prevents monsters from attacking during the turn they are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck is an effect that is applied to those monsters. In this scenario, since Metaphys Horus is unaffected by the effects of other cards, it can attack this turn even while the effect of Passionate Duelists is applying.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Passionate Duelists is face-up on my field, and its effect that prevents monsters from attacking during the turn they are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck is applying. In this situation, will monsters Special Summoned from my opponent’s Extra Deck be able to attack during the same turn?
A: The effect of Passionate Duelists that prevents monsters from attacking during the turn they are Special Summoned from the Extra Deck applies to monsters that were Special Summoned from either player’s Extra Deck. Monsters Special Summoned from your opponent’s Extra Deck cannot attack during the same turn.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: If I have no cards in my Deck, can I activate the effect of Passionate Duelists that adds a monster from my Graveyard to my hand instead of conducting a normal draw? Furthermore, if I activate that effect of Passionate Duelists, but then chain Needlebug Nest so that I have no cards left in my Deck, how does the effect resolve?
A: If you have no cards in your Deck, you cannot activate the effect of Passionate Duelists that adds a monster from your Graveyard to your hand instead of conducting your normal draw. (Since you must perform your normal draw, but cannot because there are no cards in your Deck, you lose the Duel.) Also, if you have no cards in your Deck when the effect of Passionate Duelists resolves, you cannot add a monster from your Graveyard to your hand. (In this case, since the effect of Passionate Duelists cannot be applied, you must perform your normal draw, so you lose the Duel.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: If I activated the effect of Passionate Duelists that adds a monster from my Graveyard to my hand instead of conducting a normal draw, can I choose a Fusion, Synchro, or Xyz Monster in my Graveyard?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, that Fusion/Synchro/Xyz Monster is returned to your Extra Deck instead of being added to your hand.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate the effect of Passionate Duelists that adds a monster from my Graveyard to my hand instead of conducting a normal draw. If my opponent chains Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys Passionate Duelists, how does the effect resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Passionate Duelists during your Draw Phase, if Passionate Duelists itself has been destroyed by the effect of a card such as Mystical Space Typhoon, you cannot add a monster from your Graveyard to your hand instead of conducting your normal draw. In this case, you draw normally and continue the Duel.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

20AP-JP002 Chaos Scepter Blast

Q: If I have a Gagaga Magician on my field treated as a Level 8 monster by its own effect, can I activate Chaos Scepter Blast?
A: Chaos Scepter Blast can be activated as long as there is a Level 8 or higher Spellcaster-Type monster face-up in your Monster Zone. In this scenario, although Gagaga Magician is originally Level 4, it is currently Level 8 due to its own effect, so you can activate Chaos Scepter Blast.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: While I have a Magician of Black Chaos on my field, I activate Chaos Scepter Blast. If my opponent chains Raigeki Break, and Magician of Black Chaos is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard, how does the effect of Chaos Scepter Blast resolve?
A: Even if you no longer have a Level 8 or higher Spellcaster-Type monster on your field when resolving the effect of Chaos Scepter Blast, you still banish a card on the field face-down normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

20AP-JP003 Diabound Kernel

Q: Can I activate the effect of Diabound Kernel that reduces the ATK of an opponent’s monster by its own ATK, by targeting an opponent’s monster with 0 ATK?
A: Yes, you can. In that case, although the ATK of the opponent’s monster remains 0 as a result, it is still considered to have lost ATK due to this effect, so Diabound Kernel is banished until the next Standby Phase normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: If the ATK of my Diabound Kernel has become 0 due to the effect of Ghost of a Grudge, can I activate its effect that reduces the ATK of an opponent’s monster by its own ATK?
A: If the ATK of Diabound Kernel is 0, you cannot reduce the ATK of an opponent’s monster, so the effect cannot be activated.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate the effect of Diabound Kernel that reduces the ATK of an opponent’s monster by its own ATK, targeting my opponent’s Blue-Eyes White Dragon. If Book of Moon is chained to this effect, and Blue-Eyes White Dragon is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does the effect of Diabound Kernel resolve?
A: In this scenario, if the monster targeted with the effect of Diabound Kernel has been changed to face-down Defense Position when resolving the effect, its ATK cannot be reduced. In that case, Diabound Kernel is not banished and remains face-up on the field.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate the effect of Diabound Kernel that reduces the ATK of an opponent’s monster by its own ATK, targeting my opponent’s Blue-Eyes White Dragon. If Book of Moon is chained to this effect, and Diabound Kernel is changed to face-down Defense Position, how does its effect resolve?
A: In this scenario, if Diabound Kernel has been changed to face-down Defense Position when resolving its effect, the ATK of the opponent’s monster cannot be reduced. In that case, Diabound Kernel is not banished and remains in face-down Defense Position.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

20AP-JP004 Harpie’s Feather Storm

Q: If the only face-up monster on my field is Harpie’s Pet Dragon, can I activate Harpie’s Feather Storm?
A: Harpie’s Feather Storm can only be activated if you have a WIND Winged Beast-Type monster on your field. Harpie’s Pet Dragon is a “Harpie” monster, but not a WIND Winged Beast-Type monster. Therefore, if it is the only face-up monster on your field, you cannot activate Harpie’s Feather Storm.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activated Harpie’s Feather Storm this turn. In this situation, if my opponent activates the effect of Effect Veiler from their hand, or the effect of Electromagnetic Turtle from their Graveyard, will that effect be negated?
A: While the effect of Harpie’s Feather Storm is applying, all monster effects activated by the opponent are negated, including those that are not activated on the field. Therefore, even if your opponent activates the effect of Effect Veiler or Electromagnetic Turtle, the effect is negated.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: If my opponent activates the effect of Gandora the Dragon of Destruction, which destroys my Set Harpie’s Feather Storm and banishes it, can I activate the effect of Harpie’s Feather Storm that adds Harpie’s Feather Duster from my Deck to my hand?
A: In this scenario, if your Set Harpie’s Feather Storm is destroyed and banished by the effect of your opponent’s Gandora the Dragon of Destruction, you can still activate its effect that adds Harpie’s Feather Duster from your Deck to your hand.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

20AP-JP005 Elemental HERO Honesty Neos

Q: When activating the effect of Elemental HERO Honesty Neos that increases its own ATK, can I discard a Destiny HERO – Dark Angel?
A: Since Destiny HERO – Dark Angel has 0 ATK, you cannot discard it to activate the effect of Elemental HERO Honesty Neos.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate the effect of Elemental HERO Honesty Neos by discarding an Evil HERO Malicious Edge. If my opponent chains the effect of D.D. Crow and banishes that Evil HERO Malicious Edge from the Graveyard, how does the effect of Elemental HERO Honesty Neos resolve?
A: When resolving the effect of Elemental HERO Honesty Neos, even if the “HERO” monster discarded as the cost is no longer in the Graveyard, the effect is applied normally. (In this scenario, since Evil HERO Malicious Edge was discarded, Elemental HERO Honesty Neos will gain 2600 ATK.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

_________________
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Stardog's Waifu: 「Denko Sekka」

Smash Mains

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Showdown Archives: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
avatar
Stardog
Number 17: The Star

Posts : 1552
Magician Credits : 7146
Age : 22
Join date : 2014-11-01
Location : CA

Character sheet
Reputation:
ReputationMCsWinsLoss
Bounty
Notoriety30
Fame

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum