[OCG] 02/16/17 Rulings

View previous topic View next topic Go down

[OCG] 02/16/17 Rulings

Post by Stardog on Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:39 pm

No, there’s nothing on Link mechanics yet.

02/16/17 Rulings

Q: I activate the effect of Cosmic Blazar Dragon when my opponent activates a card effect from their Graveyard, and banish Cosmic Blazar Dragon until the End Phase. In that case, although the card in my opponent’s Graveyard is not destroyed, what happens to the banished Cosmic Blazar Dragon?
A: If Cosmic Blazar Dragon was banished as the cost to activate its effect when your opponent activates a card effect from the Graveyard, even though that card is not destroyed by its effect, Cosmic Blazar Dragon returns to the field during the End Phase normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: When my opponent’s First of the Dragons declares an attack, I activate the effect of Cosmic Blazar Dragon that negates the attack and then ends the Battle Phase. In this case, what happens?
A: In this scenario, since First of the Dragons is unaffected by other monsters’ effects, its attack is not negated by the effect of Cosmic Blazar Dragon, and the Battle Phase does not end. (In this case, since Cosmic Blazar Dragon was banished, a replay occurs.) Even in this case, Cosmic Blazar Dragon returns to the field during the End Phase normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate Cosmic Flare, targeting a Stardust Spark Dragon. If my opponent chains Book of Moon, and changes Stardust Spark Dragon to face-down Defense Position, how does Cosmic Flare resolve?
A: As in this scenario, if the targeted “Stardust” Synchro Monster is in face-down Defense Position when Cosmic Flare resolves, the effect is not applied.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate Cosmic Flare, targeting a Stardust Spark Dragon. During the turn the effect of Cosmic Flare is applied, if my opponent activates Book of Moon and changes Stardust Spark Dragon to face-down Defense Position, what happens to the effect?
A: If a “Stardust” Synchro Monster, to which the effect of Cosmic Flare has been applied this turn, is changed to face-down Defense Position, the effect of Cosmic Flare is no longer applied.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: While Red Dragon Archfiend, Black Rose Dragon, Ancient Fairy Dragon, Black-Winged Dragon, and Life Stream Dragon are in my Graveyard, I activate Converging Wishes. If my opponent chains the effect of their D.D. Crow so that the number of Dragon-Type Synchro Monsters in my Graveyard becomes 4 or less, how does Converging Wishes resolve?
A: Even if there are 4 or less Dragon-Type Synchro Monsters in your Graveyard when Converging Wishes resolves, its effect resolves normally. (Stardust Dragon is Special Summoned from the Extra Deck and equipped with Converging Wishes.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: When a Stardust Dragon equipped with Converging Wishes destroys an opponent’s monster by battle, I activate the effect of Converging Wishes by banishing a Dragon-Type Synchro Monster from my Graveyard, allowing Stardust Dragon to attack once again. During the Battle Step of the additional attack on an opponent’s monster, if my opponent activates Mystical Space Typhoon and destroys Converging Wishes, what happens?
A: After Stardust Dragon declares an additional attack gained from the effect of Converging Wishes, if Converging Wishes is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon, Stardust Dragon will no longer gain ATK equal to the total ATK of all Dragon-Type Synchro Monsters in your Graveyard, but the attack continues normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: My opponent activates Contract with Don Thousand during their Main Phase, and I draw Succession of the True Draco with its effect. While the effects of Contract with Don Thousand are applying, preventing me from Normal Summoning/Setting monsters while I have a Spell Card revealed in my hand, can I still activate the effect of my Apocalypse of the True Dracos that allows me to Tribute Summon a “True Draco” monster during my opponent’s Main Phase?
A: In this scenario, since the second effect of Contract with Don Thousand makes you reveal a Spell Card in your hand, its third effect that prevents you from Normal Summoning/Setting monsters is also applying. In this case, you cannot activate the effect of Apocalypse of the True Dracos that allows you to Tribute Summon a “True Draco” monster.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Contract with Don Thousand is face-up in my opponent’s Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I draw Mystical Space Typhoon during my Draw Phase, will the effect of Contract with Don Thousand prevent me from Normal Summoning/Setting this turn? If I activate Mystical Space Typhoon and destroy Contract with Don Thousand, can I Normal Summon/Set this turn?
A: A player who draws a Spell Card while the effect of Contract with Don Thousand is applying, and has that Spell Card revealed in their hand, cannot Normal Summon/Set. If you draw Mystical Space Typhoon as in this scenario, you cannot Normal Summon/Set while it is in your hand, but if you activate it and destroy Contract with Don Thousand, players can Normal Summon/Set as usual.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: During my opponent’s Battle Phase, my Marshmallon is attacked twice by my opponent’s monsters. In this situation, if I activate Pop-Up and activate Dueltainment from my Deck, and then Marshmallon is attacked 3 more times, do I draw 2 cards with the second “●” effect of Dueltainment?
A: The effect of Dueltainment is applied the first time per turn that each of the conditions are met while Dueltainment itself is face-up in the Field Zone. In this scenario, since Marshmallon battled twice before Dueltainment was activated, those battles are not included toward the second “●” effect of Dueltainment. (A monster must battle 5 times in a turn after Dueltainment has been activated.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Dueltainment is face-up in the Field Zone, and a Shooting Star Dragon that is able to attack 5 times due to its own effect is in my Monster Zone. During this turn, if Shooting Star Dragon attacks 4 times, then my opponent activates Rebellion and takes control of Shooting Star Dragon, but then another monster I control battles it, do I draw 2 cards with the second “●” effect of Dueltainment?
A: The effect of Dueltainment will be applied when a single monster on your field battles 5 times during a turn. Therefore, when a monster on your field battles multiple times, but then control of it is switched to your opponent, the number of times it battles after that point are counted only for your opponent. Even if Shooting Star Dragon returns to your field during that Battle Phase, the number of times that monster battled while you controlled it will be reset again, so you cannot draw with the effect of Dueltainment.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate the effect of Blowback Dragon, and toss a coin 3 times. Then, during the same turn, if I activate Dueltainment and afterward perform a coin toss/die roll 2 more times, do I draw 2 cards with the fourth “●” effect of Dueltainment?
A: The effect of Dueltainment is applied the first time per turn that each of the conditions are met while Dueltainment itself is face-up in the Field Zone. In this scenario, since the effect of Blowback Dragon resolved before Dueltainment was activated, those coin tosses are not included toward the fourth “●” effect of Dueltainment. (You must perform a coin toss/die roll 5 times in a turn after Dueltainment has been activated.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Dueltainment is face-up in the Field Zone, and Second Coin Toss is face-up in my Spell & Trap Zone. In this situation, if I activate the effect of Barrel Dragon, but redo the coin tosses when it resolves by applying the effect of Second Coin Toss, do I then draw 2 cards with the fourth “●” effect of Dueltainment?
A: The coin tosses that you redo due to the effect of Second Coin Toss also count toward the number of coin tosses and performed in a turn, so in this scenario, after the effect of Barrel Dragon resolves, you draw 2 cards with the effect of Dueltainment.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate Half Shut, targeting a Blue-Eyes White Dragon equipped with Wicked-Breaking Flamberge – Baou. Afterward, if my opponent activates Twister and destroys Wicked-Breaking Flamberge – Baou, what happens to the ATK of Blue-Eyes White Dragon?
A: In this scenario, if the effect of Half Shut is applied to a Blue-Eyes White Dragon equipped with Wicked-Breaking Flamberge – Baou, its current ATK of 3500 becomes half that value, so it will have 1750 ATK. Afterward, even if Twister is activated and Wicked-Breaking Flamberge – Baou is destroyed, the ATK determined by the effect of Half Shut does not change, and it remains 1750. When the turn ends and the effect of Half Shut stops applying, the ATK of Blue-Eyes White Dragon returns to its original value of 3000.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: When my opponent’s Blue-Eyes White Dragon attacks me directly and I take 3000 damage, I activate The Golden Apples and Special Summon a Malus Token. If my opponent then activates Half Shut and targets the Malus Token, what happens to its ATK and DEF?
A: In this scenario, when you take 3000 battle damage and activate The Golden Apples, the ATK and DEF of the Malus Token will each be 3000. When the effect of Half Shut is applied to the Malus Token, its current ATK of 3000 becomes half that value, so it will have 1500 ATK. (The DEF remains 3000.) Then, when the turn ends and the effect of Half Shut stops applying, the ATK of the Malus Token returns to its original value. (Since the original ATK of the Malus Token is “?”, the ATK becomes 0. The ATK never returns to 3000, but the DEF remains 3000.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

_________________
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Stardog's Waifu: 「Denko Sekka」

Smash Mains

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Showdown Archives: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
avatar
Stardog
Number 17: The Star

Posts : 1552
Magician Credits : 7146
Age : 22
Join date : 2014-11-01
Location : CA

Character sheet
Reputation:
ReputationMCsWinsLoss
Bounty
Notoriety30
Fame

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum