[OCG] 02/09/17 Rulings

View previous topic View next topic Go down

[OCG] 02/09/17 Rulings

Post by Stardog on Tue Feb 14, 2017 9:00 am

This week’s rulings.

02/09/17 Rulings


Q: If the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is applying, can I activate the effect of Performapal Sky Magician that returns a Continuous Spell Card to my hand and then allows me to activate a “Magician’s” Continuous Spell Card from my hand?
A: Even if the effect of Anti-Spell Fragrance is applying, you can activate this effect of Performapal Sky Magician. In that case, you can return the targeted Continuous Spell Card to your hand, but you cannot activate a “Magician’s” Continuous Spell Card from your hand afterward.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Skill Drain is face-up on my opponent’s side of the field, and its effect that negates the effects of all face-up monsters on the field is applying. In this situation, if I Tribute Summon a Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King by Tributing 1 Continuous Spell Card and 1 Continuous Trap Card, how are each of its effects applied?
A: In this scenario, the effect that makes Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King unaffected by the effects of cards with the same type as those Tributed for its Tribute Summon, and the effect that can destroy 1 card on the field, are both negated by Skill Drain. Note that if the effect of Skill Drain stops applying, Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King will become unaffected by Spell and Trap effects normally. (The effect that destroys 1 card on the field can also be activated and resolved normally.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: My opponent Tribute Summoned a Dozen Da’at Metatron, the True Draco Meksoldier by Tributing 1 monster, 1 Continuous Spell Card, and 1 Continuous Trap Card. In this situation, if I activated The Monarchs Stormforth, can I Tribute my opponent’s Dozen Da’at Metatron, the True Draco Meksoldier for a Tribute Summon?
A: In this scenario, since your opponent’s Dozen Da’at Metatron, the True Draco Meksoldier was Tribute Summoned by Tributing 1 monster, 1 Continuous Spell Card, and 1 Continuous Trap Card, it is unaffected by the effects of monsters, Spell Cards, and Trap Cards. Since it is unaffected by the effect of The Monarchs Stormforth, you cannot Tribute it in place of your own monsters when performing a Tribute Summon.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: If I have no cards in my hand, can I activate the effect of Baobaboon when it is Normal or Special Summoned?
A: Even if you have no cards in your hand, you can activate the effect of Baobaboon when it is Normal or Special Summoned. In that case, when you draw a card with its effect, you can return that card to either the top of bottom of the Deck.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: If there are 2 copies of Zoodiac Hammerkong on my field with Xyz Material, can my opponent target either Zoodiac Hammerkong with card effects?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of each Zoodiac Hammerkong prevents your opponent from targeting the other with card effects, your opponent cannot target either copy with card effects.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: A Zoodiac Hammerkong with Xyz Material and a Zoodiac Drident are both face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, I Tribute Summon a Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King by Tributing 1 monster and 1 Continuous Spell Card. If I activate the effect of Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King that destroys 1 card on the field, which monsters on the field can I target?
A: In this scenario, since the effect of Zoodiac Hammerkong prevents you from targeting other “Zoodiac” monsters with card effects, you cannot target Zoodiac Drident. Therefore, if you want to target a monster with the effect of Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King, you can only target Zoodiac Hammerkong. (The effect of Master Peace, the True Dracoslaying King that makes it unaffected by card effects does not make a difference.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: While I have Performapal Sky Magician and Magician’s Right Hand on my side of the field, my opponent activates Pot of Desires. If my opponent then chains Compulsory Evacuation Device and returns Performapal Sky Magician to my hand, will the effect of Magician’s Right Hand still be applied?
A: The effect of Magician’s Right Hand is only applied if you have a Spellcaster-Type monster on your field when a Spell Card or the effect of a Spell Card activated by your opponent resolves. Therefore, since Performapal Sky Magician was returned to your hand in this scenario, you no longer have a Spellcaster-Type monster on your field and the effect of Magician’s Right Hand is not applied. Your opponent draws 2 cards with the effect of Pot of Desires normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: My opponent activates the effect of Ignis Heat, the True Dracowarrior, and uses it to activate Disciples of the True Dracophoenix from their Deck. At this time, if I have Performapal Sky Magician and Magician’s Right Hand on my side of the field, will the effect of Magician’s Right Hand be applied?
A: As in this scenario, when your opponent activates a “True Draco” Continuous Spell Card using the effect of Ignis Heat, the True Dracowarrior, the effect of Magician’s Right Hand that negates a Spell Card or effect and destroys it is not applied. In this situation, if your opponent activates any of the effects of Disciples of the True Dracophoenix afterward, the effect of Magician’s Right Hand will negate it and destroy Disciples of the True Dracophoenix.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: My opponent activates the effect of their Dragonic Diagram that destroys 1 card on the field or in their hand, and adds a “True Draco” card from their Deck to their hand. In this case, can I chain My Body as a Shield?
A: My Body as a Shield cannot be activated in response to the effect of a Spell/Trap Card that is already face-up on the field. Therefore, when your opponent activates the effect of Dragonic Diagram, you cannot chain My Body as a Shield.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activated one of the effects of Pacifis, the Phantasmagoric City in my Field Zone this turn. In this situation, can I Special Summon a Dragon Spirit of White from my Graveyard with the effect of Monster Reborn?
A: In this scenario, since you activated an effect of Pacifis, the Phantasmagoric City this turn, you cannot Normal or Special Summon Effect Monsters. During the turn the effects of Pacifis, the Phantasmagoric City have been activated, you can only activate Monster Reborn if you target a non-Effect Monster. Since Dragon Spirit of White is treated as a Normal Monster by its own effect while it is in your Graveyard, you can target it with Monster Reborn and Special Summon it normally.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: I activate Revolving Stage, Setting a Sogen to my Field Zone and a Wasteland to my opponent’s Field Zone. Can either player activate these Set cards?
A: Field Spell Cards that have been Set by the effect of Revolving Stage can be activated during a player’s Main Phase. (In this scenario, during your turn, you can activate Sogen. During your opponent’s turn, your opponent can activate Wasteland.)

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: When my Lyna the Light Charmer is Flip Summoned, I activate its effect and take control of my opponent’s Magna-Slash Dragon. After the effect resolves, if my opponent activates Book of Moon and changes Magna-Slash Dragon to face-down Defense Position, what happens?
A: The effect of Lyna the Light Charmer takes control of the targeted LIGHT monster as long as Lyna the Light Charmer remains face-up on the field. Although the effect continues to target the controlled monster (in this case, Magna-Slash Dragon), if that monster is changed to face-down Defense Position by Book of Moon, it stops being targeted by the effect. At that time, control of that monster does not return to the opponent.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: King of the Swamp is face-up on my opponent’s field, whereas Dark Magician and Buster Blader are both face-up on my side of the field. In this situation, if I activate Super Polymerization, can I apply the effect of my opponent’s King of the Swamp when performing the Fusion Summon?
A: If you use an opponent’s King of the Swamp as Fusion Material when resolving the effect of Super Polymerization, you can substitute it for a Fusion Material monster whose name is listed on a Fusion Monster. In this scenario, if you Fusion Summon a Dark Paladin, you can use Dark Magician, Buster Blader, or King of the Swamp in any combination.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

Q: Paleozoic Opabinia is face-up on my opponent’s field. In this situation, can I Special Summon a Kumongous, the Sticky String Kaiju from my hand by Tributing my opponent’s Paleozoic Opabinia?
A: Paleozoic Opabinia is unaffected by other monsters’ effects, but being Tributed to Special Summon Kumongous, the Sticky String Kaiju is not considered being affected by a monster effect. Therefore, you can Tribute your opponent’s Paleozoic Opabinia to Special Summon a Kumongous, the Sticky String Kaiju from your hand.

Source: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

_________________
[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Stardog's Waifu: 「Denko Sekka」

Smash Mains

[You must be registered and logged in to see this image.]

Showdown Archives: [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
avatar
Stardog
Number 17: The Star

Posts : 1552
Magician Credits : 7146
Age : 22
Join date : 2014-11-01
Location : CA

Character sheet
Reputation:
ReputationMCsWinsLoss
Bounty
Notoriety30
Fame

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum